Fans of the Impossible Life // Book Review

I’ve actually had time to squeeze in a few books lately! My friend Jenn sent me Fans of the Impossible Life as an ebook, and it took me forever before I could finish it, but I enjoyed it. Well, sort of.

Goodreads description

A captivating and profound debut novel about complicated love and the friendships that have the power to transform you forever, perfect for fans of The Perks of Being a Wallflower.

Mira is starting over at Saint Francis Prep. She promised her parents she would at least try to pretend that she could act like a functioning human this time, not a girl who can’t get out of bed for days on end, who only feels awake when she’s with Sebby.

Jeremy is the painfully shy art nerd at Saint Francis who’s been in self-imposed isolation after an incident that ruined his last year of school. When he sees Sebby for the first time across the school lawn, it’s as if he’s been expecting this blond, lanky boy with mischief glinting in his eye.

Sebby, Mira’s gay best friend, is a boy who seems to carry sunlight around with him. Even as life in his foster home starts to take its toll, Sebby and Mira together craft a world of magic rituals and impromptu road trips, designed to fix the broken parts of their lives.

As Jeremy finds himself drawn into Sebby and Mira’s world, he begins to understand the secrets that they hide in order to protect themselves, to keep each other safe from those who don’t understand their quest to live for the impossible.

Things I liked
The diversity. It was literally everywhere! So. much. diversity. (Although, to be honest, it kind of got to the point where I thought that it was too much.)

The narration was really, really unique. There are three different main characters, and they each have their own narration style. Jeremy narrates in first person, Mira narrates in third person, and Sebby narrates in second person. And the best thing about it is that it fit their individual struggles and personalities perfectly. I almost gave the book 4-stars just based on this, because it was awesome and wonderfully done.

– The characters feel so real. There are quite a few characters, but even the side-characters feel like they have their own unique voices. I was really surprised. And the teenagers (mostly) act like teenagers!


Things I had problems with
– The side-characters. There were a lot of them, and I’m not sure what their purpose was. Some of them drove the plot forward, but there were a lot of side-plots that didn’t really matter to the story. Because of this, a lot of them felt one-dimensional.

– The backstory. Kind of like And We Stay, most of the plot in this story has already happened and we are reading the aftermath. For the first half of the book, the reader is kept in the dark from those backstories, but then about halfway through it’s like an information dump.

– The ending. I’m not going to give you any spoilers, but it was really one of the worst endings that I have ever read. It was not satisfying at all. AT ALL. It really wasn’t even an ending. There was a definite climax and definite falling action, but definitely no conclusion.


Miscellaneous
– I hated the name “Sebby.” I really tried to like his name, and kind of was able to be okay with it, but I could not bring myself to like his character very much.

– It was very Perks of Being a Wallflower. If you’ve read Perks, then you’ve basically read about 70% of this book. Three misfit characters trying to get through high school by relying on each other. Friendly English teacher. LGBT themes. It’s all there.

– The chapters were short and easy to get through. So that’s a plus, right? It took me a long time to read because I’ve been so busy, but once I actually carved out some time it didn’t take long at all to get through it.

So I started thinking this was going to be a 4-star read, but the second half really disappointed me.
Rating: 3/5 stars.

–Emily

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge