Instant Book Turn-offs

So this post is gonna be short and a little late. Sorry about that. Deacon just got back from a trip yesterday so I’ve been spending my free time catching up with him. But I promise that my blogging schedule will get back to normal in May. 🙂

Today I’m linking up with The Broke and the Bookish for a Top Ten Tuesday!

This week’s theme: Top Ten Things That Will Make Me Instantly NOT Want To Read A Book

  

 

10. It’s plot/setting/characters are too close to another book.
If I loved something else, I don’t want a cheap replica. I want something original.

9. It is marketed as a comparison or mashup of something popular. 
such as Hunger Games meets Eleanor & Park
Most of the time this isn’t even accurate.

8. It’s a retelling.
Okay, sometimes they’re not so bad (AKA if it’s by Marissa Meyer). But most of the time it’s just not my thing. 

 7. It’s the first of many.
I don’t like the obligation of starting a new series.

6. It’s written in a diary or journal format.
Although sometimes it’s okay, like in The Perks of Being a Wallflower or Alice and the Fly. But most of the time I’d rather have a normal format.

 5. It has several narrators.
Any more than two is too many, and half the time even two is too many.

4. It focuses on sex, drugs, alcohol, and/or partying.
Why is this always the go-to for YA? My teenage years didn’t have any of this. (Maybe my adolescence just wasn’t noteworthy.) I’m just tired of reading about it.

3. It has font so small you need a telescope.
This is why I love ebooks.

2. It’s an epic fantasy.
Just…ugh. As a writer, this is fun to write. As a reader, I don’t want to live in your made-up world where the rules only make sense to you. There are so many epic fantasies out there, but only about 3% are worthwhile.

1. It’s magical realism.
The only thing worse about being immersed in a world that is 100% foreign is being immersed in a world that is completely familiar but with a random touch of magic. Like the magic telephone in Landline. Or anything by Neil Gaiman (don’t throw things at me please!). Just…why? I don’t get it. It always makes me feel disoriented and breaks my suspension of disbelief. 

 

–Emily
currently listening to: To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

~~~
What are your book turn-offs? 

5 Comments

  1. Sue @ Crushingcinders
    April 27, 2017

    I am also wary of series but this is because I know I will forget why I liked it by the time the sequel is released.
    Sue @ Crushingcinders recently posted…Why I’ll Never Choose That Book: The Science of Book AppealMy Profile

    Reply
    1. Emily Seals
      April 27, 2017

      It’s also easy to forget what happened in the first book by the time you read the second! This happens to me all the time. I constantly have to look up the plot synopsis of the previous book.

      Reply
  2. Cait @ Paper Fury
    April 28, 2017

    Oh I hate it when books copy other books…I seriously just read a book that felt like badly written City of Bones fanfic. I was actually really shocked! How does this stuff even get published?! And those publisher comparisons are always not right.😂 Like how is EVERY book “The next Hunger Games!” like…not really.😂
    Cait @ Paper Fury recently posted…I Dare You #BookTag (Wherein I Am Fearless Daredevil Who Knows No Bounds)My Profile

    Reply
  3. Jackie
    April 28, 2017

    #9 So Much! The moment I read “for fans of Harry Potter”, I know to run screaming in the other direction.
    Jackie recently posted…That One Time I Reviewed a Short Story Collection |By the Wayside by Anne Leigh ParrishMy Profile

    Reply
    1. Emily Seals
      April 29, 2017

      I know! Just because I liked one book does not mean I’ll like something in the same genre. There are so many factors involved!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

%d bloggers like this: